About Me

  • DOB: 12/06/1986
  • Hometown: Sarasota, FL
  • Current Residence: Gainesville, FL
  • Height: 6’0″  (183 cm)
  • Weight: 145 lb  (65.8 kg) 
  • Category: UCI Continental Pro
  • Strengths: Climbing, Time Trialing and Stage Racing
  • USCF Team: Lupus Racing Team
  • E-mail: spggsr@gmail.com
  • Strava: http://app.strava.com/athletes/527515
  • Work: Product Design and Development Engineer

This will be my second season racing with the Lupus Racing Pro Team. Prior to this, I rode with United Healthcare of Georgia p/b The 706 Project, and two seasons for Team Athletix benefiting Globalbike before that. This will be my ninth season racing bikes, but I began my sporting career playing golf. I was a competitive golfer for seven years, playing through high school and in the junior golf league. After playing golf for so long, I was looking for a change and after seeing the Tour on tv, I decided to get a bike and start riding for fun. I began racing competitively in the fall of 2005 when I enrolled at the University of Florida. I worked my way up to a Cat 1 by the end of the 2008 season.

I have had success throughout the years at regional races and this last season have finished top ten at the NRC level. Most recently, I finished third at Collegiate Nationals in Ogden, UT. This was my final collegiate race, which was a great way to end my years at the university.  Shortly after Nationals, I graduated from UF with my Master’s degree in mechanical engineering. I now plan on racing as often as I can, with the team, both regionally and across the country.

%d bloggers like this: